Home - Chicago Area Orinteering Club
Intro to Orienteering
Upcoming Events
E-mail lists
Membership Info
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Meet Director's Area



Chicago Area Orienteering Championships

2001 Championships

2000 Fall Champs


Club Championship
Hotly Contested

The 2001 CAOC Club Championship after six events is very close for the Club's five top orienteers. Charlie Shahbazian, Mikhail Pekour, and Evgen Myronov are within a single point of each other, and Carl Larsson and Joe Sehnal are just 4 points behind them. Elena Backiev is way out in front of the other women on Green with 36 points.

Emma Larsson (15 years old) and Gedas Zalkauskiene (14) topped the juniors on the Orange course. Unfortunately Gedas has returned to Lithuania and will not be competing this Fall, leaving the male junior field wide open!

The CAOC Club Championship was created in 1999 by VP Charlie Shahbazian to stimulate competition and encourage members to run harder courses more frequently. Men must run the Red course to be ranked and women must run the Green course. And since the six best scores earned by each competitor count out of the twelve events offered by the Club this year, members must come to at least half of the meets in order to stand a fair competitive chance.

The scoring is quite simple: at each local meet, the top ten male finishers on the Red course are awarded points in descending order (10 points for first place, 9 for second, etc.). Similarly on the Green course, the top female finishers are awarded championship points in descending order. Thus at the end of the season, a perfect score would be 60 points for anyone winning at least six of the events they entered during the year.

Please note that this is a Club Championship event for CAOC members only. Those non-members that place in the top ten at a local meet are not eligible for the Championship, unless they join the Club before year end. Non-members who would have won Championship points so far this year include: Nancy Young, Wendy Todd, Dogalic Dragovan, Alvars Mazzarins, Gabor Csonka, Totoris, Kristijonas Sabataitis, Rob Keefe, Mike Runyon, and Anders Widen. You may wish to consider joining the Club in order to have your 2001 runs counted by the time awards are handed out at the November 4 meet at Willow Springs Woods.

Home | Intro | Events | Meet Results | E-mail lists | Newsletter | Bulletin Board
Training | Contacts | Membership | Photo Gallery | Links | Meet Directors
© 2001-2006 Chicago Area Orienteering Club
Please send questions or comments to the webmaster.